Home UFC UFC 217 Medical Suspensions: Cody Garbrandt Avoids Long Stint

UFC 217 Medical Suspensions: Cody Garbrandt Avoids Long Stint


With every decision comes a consequence and for those fighters who took part in battle at UFC 217, it’s their time to faces those consequences in the form of medical suspensions.

UFC 217 took place on Saturday, November 4th in New York at Madison Square Garden. The main card aired on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET while the preliminary card aired on FOX Sports 1 at 8 p.m. ET and the promotion’s streaming service, UFC Fight Pass, at 7 p.m. ET.

Michael Bisping vs. Georges St-Pierre for the UFC middleweight title served as the main event. Cody Garbrandt vs. T.J. Dillashaw for the UFC bantamweight title served as the co-main event. Rounding out this stacked five bout main card was Joanna Jedrzejczyk vs. Rose Namajunas in a strawweight title bout, Stephen Thompson vs. Jorge Masvidal in a welterweight bout, and Johny Hendricks vs. Paulo Borrachinha in a middleweight bout.

Some of the more notable suspensions include Aleksei Oleinik and Aiemann Zahabi got 90-day medical suspensions. St-Pierre, Thompson, and Mickey Gall got 45-day suspensions. Garbrandt and Bisping only got 30-days.

Here are the entire medical suspensions:

Aleksei Oleinik: 90-day medical suspension

Aiemann Zahabi: 90-day medical suspension

Corey Anderson: 60-day medical suspension

Georges St-Pierre: 45-day medical suspension

Stephen Thompson: 45-day medical suspension

Mickey Gall: 45-day medical suspension

Michael Bisping: 30-day medical suspension

Cody Garbrandt: 30-day medical suspension

Joanna Jedrzejczyk: 30-day medical suspension

Johny Hendricks: 30-day medical suspension

Paulo Borrachinha: 30-day medical suspension

Joe Duffy: 30-day medical suspension

Mark Godbeer: 30-day medical suspension

T.J. Dillashaw: Seven-day medical suspension

Rose Namajunas: Seven-day medical suspension

Jorge Masvidal: Seven-day medical suspension

James Vick: Seven-day medical suspension

Walt Harris: Seven-day medical suspension

Ovince Saint Preux: Seven-day medical suspension

Randy Brown: Seven-day medical suspension

Curtis Blaydes: Seven-day medical suspension

Ricardo Ramos: Seven-day medical suspension