UFC Signs Olympic Gold Medalist Henry Cejudo, Booked To Face Scott Jorgensen At UFC 177


The UFC’s flyweight division has added some Olympic royalty to its roaster by signing undefeated gold medalist Henry Cejudo.

The news was announced by UFC officials yesterday afternoon. The gold medalist at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in freestyle wrestling will meet former bantamweight contender Scott Jorgensen next month, at UFC 177.

UFC 177 takes place on August 30 at the Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, California and will feature two title fights. Headlining the event is a bantamweight rematch as T.J. Dillashaw looks for his first title defence against the divisions former champion Renan Barão.

In the co-main event, flyweight kingpin Demetrious Johnson puts his title on the line against the No. 8-ranked Chris Cariaso looking for his fifth straight title defence. The winner of the bout will be keeping a close eye on whoever emerges victorious between Cejudo and Jorgensen.

After failing to make the Olympics in 2012, Cejudo began to train in MMA and made his official debut on March 2013 where he earned a first round stoppage over Michael Poe. Since that night he has gone 6-0 in his career, picking up four finishes, doing enough to receive a call from the UFC.

Jorgensen got himself back in the win column recently with a impressed decision over Danny Martinez which earned both men “Fight of the Night” honours. The victory was crucial for “Young Guns” after coming up short in his previous three fights.

The 31-year old is now 1-2 in the flyweight division and will looking to make things even against Cejudo.

With the addition, UFC 177 now looks as followed:

T.J. Dillashaw vs. Renan Barao for bantamweight title

Demetrious Johnson vs. Chris Cariaso for flyweight title

Shayna Baszler vs. Bethe Correia

Danny Castillo vs. Tony Ferguson

Anthony Hamilton vs. Ruan Potts

Carlos Diego Ferreira vs. Ramsey Nijem

Ruslan Magomedov vs. Richard Odoms

Justin Edwards vs. Yancy Medeiros

Derek Brunson vs. Lorenz Larkin

Henry Cejudo vs. Scott Jorgensen