With the rematch of Frankie Edgar and Bj Penn close at hand there are more and more articles being written to defend both sides. But Statisticly speaking MMA history points towards repeat winners in rematches. In fact, in rematches similiar to this (two year time frame) the same fighter won the rematch 16 times, and a diffrent fighter 8 times.

Rematches in two years or less that ended with the same winner:

1. Dan Severn – Oleg Taktarov
2. Oleg Taktarov – Dave Beneteau
3. Randy Couture – Pedro Rizzo
4. Dennis Hallman – Matt Hughes
5. Guy Mezger – Alexander Otsuka
6. Matt Hughes – Carlos Newton
7. Wanderlei Silva – Hidehiko Yoshida
8. Wanderlei Silva – Quinton Jackson
9. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira – Alistair Overeem
10. Matt Hughes – Frank Trigg
11. Mauricio Rua – Alistair Overeem
12. Forrest Griffin – Stephan Bonnar
13. Anderson Silva – Rich Franklin
14. Georges St. Pierre – Matt Hughes
15. Mike Brown – Urijah Faber
16. Tito Ortiz – Ken Shamrock

READ MORE:  Alexander Volkanovski Trilogy Fight With Max Holloway Could Happen In March

Rematches in two years or less that ended with a different winner:

1. Dan Severn – Ken Shamrock
2. Tito Ortiz – Guy Mezger
3. Royce Gracie – Hidehiko Yoshida
4. Chuck Liddell – Randy Couture
5. Kazuo Misaki – Dan Henderson
6. Takanori Gomi – Marcus Aurelio
7. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira – Josh Barnett
8. Tim Sylvia – Andrei Arlovski
9. Cung Le – Scott Smith
10. Brock Lesnar – Frank Mir

READ MORE:  Chael Sonnen: Nick Diaz vs Kevin Holland targeted for 2022


So do you think history will repeat itself, or will the prodigy retake his LW crown?

HT: Usatoday.com

For the latest MMA News, Rumors and Interviews follow LowKickMMA on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram.