Fan opinion: Top ten submission artists in MMA today

I have made this list from mainstream fighters who have subbed the best of the best so don’t get mad if your favorite fighter isn’t here.

10. BJ Penn-6 of 15 wins by submission. Victims include Matt Hughes, Jens Pulver, Joe Stevenson and Duane Ludwig among others.

9. Genki Sudo-11 wins of 16 by submission. Victims Include Eric Esch, Mike Brown, Nate Marquardt and Ramon Dekker among others.

8. Demian Maia-8 of 12 wins by submission. Victims include Chael Sonnen, Nate Quarry, Jason Macdonald and Ryan Jensen among others.

7. Royce Gracie-12 of 14 wins by way of submission. Victims include, Kimo, Ken Shamrock, Dan Severn and Patrick Smith among others.

6. Frank Mir-8 of 13 victories by submission. Victims include Brock Lesnar, Tim Sylvia, Antoni Hardonk, Cheick Kongo and Tank Abbott among others.

5. Shinya Aoki-14 of 23 wins by submission. Victims include Eddie Alvarez, Joachim Hansen twice, Todd Moore, Mizuto Hiroto and Jason Black among others.

4. Fedor Emelianenko-16 of 32 wins by submission. Victims include Tim Sylvia, Matt Lindland, Mark Coleman twice, Mrk Hunt, Kevin Randleman and Hong Man Choi among others.

3. Matt Hughes-18 of 43 wins by submission. Victims include Georges St.Pierre, Frank Trigg twice, Joe Riggs and Chatt Lavender (via side choke) among others.

2. Kazushi Sakuraba-19 of 26 wins by submission. Victims include Quinton Jackson, Kevin Randleman, Shannon Ritch, Carlos Newton, Vernon White, Renzo and Royler Gracie and Kimo among others.

1. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira-20 of 32 wins by submission. Victims include Mirko Cro Cop, Heath Herring, Dan Henderson, Semmy Schilt, Zuluzinho, Bob Sapp, Tim Sylvia and Mark Coleman among others.

So I’ve chosen Big Nog as the king of submissions. Thanks for reading.