Mirko Cro Cop vs. Wanderlei Silva Official For December

Spread the word!

The opening round of the Rizin Fighting Federation Grand Prix started today. Taking place in the legendary Saitama Super Arena in Japan, the event was a throwback to days long passed. Was it the elite and slick production of the UFC? No, far from it, but that’s part of what makes Rizin FF an attraction. Freak show fights were on tap, as 400-pound beast Baruto defeated the Japanese icon Kazuyuki Fujita by decision. Fujita retired from MMA at the post fight presser. The main story of the night came from two of the most well known names in MMA history.

Mirko Cro Cop and Wanderlei Silva shared a fierce rivalry in the Pride FC days. The score is one victory by brutal KO to Cro Cop, and also a draw, with both fights contested under the Pride FC banner. Both men signing to the Rizin FF meant that a third clash was almost inevitable. Cro Cop returned to action with a first round submission over Hyun Man Myung today, and called out ‘The Axe Murderer’ who was in attendance.


Cro Cop vs. Silva 3 made official

The trilogy fight was confirmed by Rizin officials for the quarter finals of the Grand Prix set for December. Elsewhere on the card was some seriously fun fights to watch. Wanderlei Silva was also captured on camera scrapping with his old rival Charles ‘Krazy Horse’ Bennett, after sharing yet another confrontation in a Japanese hotel this week.


Just Like The Good Old Days

Here is the full list of Rizin FF results, H/T MMAMania, and thanks to Caposa on Twitter for the highlights of the event:

Bout 1: Gabi Garcia def. Destine Yarbrough by submission
Bout 2: Kanako Murata def. Kyra Batara by unanimous decision
Bout 3: Charles Bennett def. Minoru Kimura by technical knockout
Bout 4: Szymon Bajor def. Theodorus Aukstuolis by unanimous decision (Grand Prix)
Bout 5: Amir Aliakbari def. Joao Almeida by technical knockout (Grand Prix)
Bout 6: Valentin Moldaviska def. Karl Albrektsson by unanimous decision (Grand Prix)
Bout 7: Jiri Prochazka def. Mark Tanios by unanimous decision (Grand Prix)
Bout 8: Erson Yamamoto def. Kizaemon Saiga by split decision
Bout 9: Daron Cruickshank def. Andy Souwer by submission
Bout 10: Kaito Hoovelson def. Kazuyuki Fujita by unanimous decision (Grand Prix)
Bout 11: Mirko Filipovic def. Hyun Man Myung by submission (Grand Prix)
Bout 12: Rena Kubota def. Miyun Yamamoto by submission
Bout 13: Kron Gracie def. Video Tokoro by submission

Mirko Filipovic vs. Hyun Man Myung

If you enjoyed this story, please share it on social media!