Gabriel Gonzaga to Appeal Loss to Travis Browne with NSAC

Posted on April 15, 2013, 11:23 AM by Mike Drahota
> Cool 36
|
> Poor 8

Many thought Travis Browne landed a few illegal downward elbows to a knocked out Gabriel Gonzaga in their heavyweight bout at the TUF Finale. And apparently, Gonzaga’s team is among those believers, set to challenge the ruling on Browne’s Knockout of the Night victory.

For those watching the fight, it ended quickly as Gonzaga attempted to drag Browne down to the mat. With a failed single leg being worked on, Browne nailed Gonzaga’s head with a rapid succession of brutal elbows. The last few may have appeared to hit Gonzaga on the back of the head while he was unconscious, but the bout was still ruled a victory for ‘Hapa’. Tatame reported on the claim that Gonzaga and his team will make.

The appeal may garner a no-contest for Gonzaga, and perhaps a rematch with Browne. But I see any rematch as a vast longshot, as Dana White saw Gonzaga get dominated despite any legalities that may have marred the victory. We’ll see if the NSAC is truly willing to budge on their original ruling.

Other fans and media thought that the Kelvin Gastelum vs. Uriah Hall bout should have been ruled differently, so the TUF 17 Finale was most definitely not without its judging and officiating controversies. Browne appeared to handle Gonzaga with relative ease, but illegal strikes are illegal strikes, and must be acknowledged if they truly had bearing on the fight.

In this case, they no doubt did, and will be reviewed. Is this an instance where Gonzaga’s team should continue to press the issue, or should they accept the defeat and move on? I thought a couple of the elbows may have been to the back of Gonzaga’s head because he slumped downward when knocked out. What is your stance on the controversy?


Comments

REGISTER OR LOG IN TO POST COMMENTS AND BECOME AN ACTIVE MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY
  • Courtes
    Weak
    17
    Sharp | 12
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    maybe the change it to a no contest, but that doesnt change the fact he got owned

    Reply 1 year ago
  • Baby Ads
    Weak
    10
    Sharp | 4
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    gabriel gonzaga is a pure looser, he should accept the fact that he loose the fight and comeback strong next time.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • scrubbduck
    Funny
    5
    Sharp | 5
    Weak | 2
    Cool | 0

    Again man? Come on...its LOSER/LOST...not LOOSE.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • Baby Ads
    Weak
    1
    Funny | 0
    Sharp | 0
    Cool | 0

    tanx.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • MMAMarco
    Sharp
    17
    Weak | 16
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    I'm not a Travis Browne fan but he dominated Gonzaga and should not be robbed of this victory. Gonzaga needs to accept the defeat. The last few blows were not going to make a difference in the fight.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • ChrisStrickland
    Cool
    21
    Weak | 8
    Funny | 0
    Sharp | 0

    Browne did dominate Gonzaga, and he should have been able to keep his win had he fought by the rules. The rules are there to keep people safe, and that was a powerful blow that Browne hit the unconscious Gonzaga in the back of the head with. Gonzaga is lucky not to be hurt seriously. Browne should have his win. stripped.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • TheRealDeal
    Sharp
    4
    Weak | 2
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    Precisely.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • ChrisStrickland
    Cool
    11
    Weak | 3
    Funny | 0
    Sharp | 0

    to a NC

    Reply 1 year ago
  • dropkickmurphy
    Sharp
    3
    Weak | 1
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    Casey should protest too for deliberately getting spiked on the head twice to get out of an armbar by Samman.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • TheRealDeal
    Weak
    18
    Cool | 3
    Sharp | 1
    Funny | 0

    Change nothing. Gonzaga got his *** kicked, plain and simple.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • Evan Holober
    Sharp
    7
    Funny | 0
    Weak | 0
    Cool | 0

    IMO, three instances deserve review from the commission. The event DKM touches upon above involving Casey and Samman. The illegal knee that rocked Tate, and the elbow(s) that ended Gonzaga's night.

    Nothing will happen though. It would involve the commission admitting one of their employees fucked up, and that ain't happenin.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • Entity
    Weak
    3
    Funny | 0
    Sharp | 0
    Cool | 0

    Gonzaga started the UFC strong and has gone downhill hence their reasoning for protesting to save from another loss.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • highkick12
    Weak
    3
    Sharp | 2
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    No way is this getting over turned, he was never warned to watch the back of the head because it all happened so fast. Plus the match was over and he was out cold before the he was hit in the back of the head. Shlt happens, take the lose like a man and either learn how to get a takedown or improve your stand up.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • chael4president1
    Sharp
    6
    Funny | 0
    Weak | 0
    Cool | 0

    Jon Jones was never warned about his illegal downward 12 to 6 elbows he was hitting Matt Hamil with. When it happens that fast there is no time for warning. However everyone knows what the rules are, and there don't have to be warnings for you to get punished for breaking a rule. Jon Jones was finishing that fight right then and there anyway, but he still has that loss on his record. If he gets a loss from being disqualified then Browne should have the same punishment. If the UFC or the commissions need to improve on anything, it's making things more fair, and equal sentences and treatment of fighters. Browne should get a loss, and if Gonzaga wants a rematch I hope he gets one. I don't believe the illegal strikes were only after Gabriel was KO'd. I think most of the elbows thrown were illegal, and that contributed to him getting hurt so quickly. Perhaps if they were all in the proper zone of the head, he would have been only rocked and not KO'd. And perhaps he would have changed his position as fast as he could. We will never know. But I do know that every time I watched it, almost every elbow after the first one was either on the back of the head, or right on that line where it depends what referee you have, and if he thinks its too far back or not.

    Reply 1 year ago
  • cranestyle
    Sharp
    3
    Weak | 3
    Funny | 0
    Cool | 0

    I thought one or two of those elbows were 12 to 6 and also, maybe the back of the head. But given the speed with which it happened, I can see why they didn't get called.

    Whatever else happened, Browne's first elbows were legit, so I think the decision stands.

    Reply 1 year ago