Gabriel Gonzaga’s appeal of loss to Travis Browne declined by Nevada

Gabriel Gonzaga’s appeal of loss to Travis Browne declined by Nevada

13
SHARE

News comes today that UFC Heavyweight Gabriel Gonzaga’s appeal to the NSAC for his loss to Travis Browne has been denied. Gonzaga’s filed the appeal after being knocked by what many deemed to be illegal downward elbows at the TUF Finale. 

According to MMA Junkie, Gonzaga’s manager Marco Alvan and lawyer Dan Hagan filed a complaint that stated:

“These fouls impacted the result of the contest, as they occurred prior to the referee moving in to stop the fight and determining Gonzaga could not continue. A referee who was operating under an accurate interpretation of the commission’s regulations would have stopped the contest upon viewing a foul and, under these circumstances, declared the contest a ‘no decision’ … or a disqualification of Travis Browne.”

But the desired result was not acquired, as the Nevada State General Attorney’s office sent word that the TKO loss to Browne would indeed remain intact. This is good news for Browne, and his manager John Fosco released a respectful, but relieved statement:

“We completely support Gabriel or any athlete exercising their right to go through the proper channels and to find out how the system views a decision that they feel strongly about. We felt that Travis did absolutely nothing illegal. Travis went into the cage and did what he had to do. But it’s a relief for Travis to be vindicated.”

With the ruling, Browne will be free to seek another opponent as he climbs the ladder towards his ultimate goal of obtaining the UFC Heavyweight Championship. For Gonzaga, it’s a disappointing setback that ultimately wrecked his three-fight winning streak. Do you still believe Gonzaga was finished with illegal strikes?

Follow LowkickMMA.com on FacebookTwitter and Gplus
A huge fan of the sport since 1995, I love writing all aspects of the fight game. As Chief Editor of LowKick MMA, I strive to stay on the cutting edge of all things MMA related.
  • http://lowkickmma.com/author/enjoylife321 enjoylife321

    When a fighters hands are clinched around the waist of another fighting leaving their head popping out they have to recognise that shots will be fired with bad intentions.

    It looked bad because of the outcome and there probably were a couple of illegal strikes in there to the back of the head but overall he got blasted firstly with legal strike.

    • http://lowkickmma.com/author/BabyAds Baby Ads

      once a looosssser always a looooossser, i think if he still have a chance of fighting in the ufc i think he should concentrate on that, not on the other things, he just got knock out by browne there's no question about that, and that was not the first time in his career, so shuuuut your air chin gonzaga.

  • http://lowkickmma.com/author/highkick12 highkick12

    Dude you were knocked out before anything hit the back of your head. Take the loss like a man and work on your game so it doesnt happen again.

  • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

    TOTAL B U L L S H I T. I guess from now on it's legal to lambast someone on the back of the head so long as they're unconscious. Sounds legit.

    • http://lowkickmma.com/author/hatch1921 hatch1921

      Have to disagree with you… he was knocked out by the 3rd hammer fist, the last two to the back of the head were in the moment and didn't have an impact on the outcome of the fight IMO

      Again… Gabriel was out before those shots ever landed. Good call by the NSAC.

      • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

        The rules aren't there to determine the outcome of the fight. They're there for SAFETY. F uck the outcome of the fight. Browne endangered Gonzaga and as punishment should have his win stripped. He broke the rules and endangered Gonzaga. According to you you can break the rules so long as the fighter in unconscious. Think about it.

        • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

          *is unconscious

        • http://lowkickmma.com/author/IGMBurninPiff IGMBurninPiff

          The rules are there to determine the outcome of the fight as well as the fighters safety. It's to make sure the fight is fair, If the K.O was caused by the illegal strikes then the fight should be over turned. He was clearly unconscious before anything hit the back of the head. Not to mention when it was replay in slow motion it really looked like 1 or 2 strikes hit the back of the head, the rest were clear on the side. Also they were 10:45-5:20 elbows not 12-6. Gonzaga got whooped.

          • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

            Yes Gonzaga got knocked out. Yes, if Browne had followed the rules he should have won, but he did not. The NSAC has now opened a floodgate by allowing rules to be broken under the right circumstances. Your lack of knowledge on the rules shows. Travis Browne is not being accused of 12 to 6 elbows. He's being accused of strikes to the back of the head, both different, both illegal. The fight is not over when a fighter goes unconscious. It's over when the ref stops it. If a fighter knocks another fighter unconscious and then grabs the fence and lands 1 or 2 strikes I would be saying the same thing. Cheating is cheating.

          • http://lowkickmma.com/author/IGMBurninPiff IGMBurninPiff

            Your lack of the ability to read shows… I mentioned the shots to the back of the head which only the last 1 or 2 was actually to the back of the head. most were right on the top side of his head. I've seen other people complain they were 12-6 so I was addressing that as well. It's ok to speak on knowledge of the rules like you know them all. I forgot you work for the commission. As Hatch said those strikes didn't change a thing, He won the fight with legal strikes. After he was K.O'd 1 or 2 slipped to the back of the head. The ref should have stopped it faster if that's your complaint as Gonzaga was clearly snoring and drooling on Browne's knee. If anything to commission would have to make a gripe that he bombed away well after he was asleep. Those strikes didn't change the fight so how could you over turn the win?

          • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

            I do know them all… There's a big list on the UFC website, at least there used to be. I'm not going to say what I've said over and over again, again, because it's obviously going right over your head.

        • http://lowkickmma.com/author/hatch1921 hatch1921

          Don't go jumping to conclusions… were the last 2 shots bad shots.. were they intentional… yes.. bad shots… intentional no according to the NSAC.

          Those 2 bad shots didn't change or would not have changed the outcome of the fight. He was out by legal strikes…

          Yes… safety first.

          Hendo/Bisbing would be another example… Bisbing was out when Hendo landed the bomb… the forearm shot on the ground … had no impact on the outcome of the fight. I can think of a dozen times where questionable shots happen in the heat of the moment but the fighter has already lost.

          His camp complained the shots impacted the outcome of the match.. the NSAC decided they didn't.

          • http://lowkickmma.com/author/ChrisStrickland ChrisStrickland

            None of Hendo's strikes were illegal strikes.